Tuesday, February 12, 2013

Senate Renews Violence Against Women Act

The Senate voted to reauthorize the  Violence Against Women Act today, sending the issue to the House, where it's unclear how Republican leaders will proceed. The bill passed 78 to 22. It already had 62 cosponsors, ensuring its passage, but it picked up additional votes from some Republicans who weren't already sponsoring it. All "no" votes came from Republicans, while all female senators—Republican and Democrat—backed the legislation.

Senators who voted against the bill included Republicans John Barrasso (Wyoming), Roy Blunt (Missouri), John Boozman (Arkansas), Tom Coburn (Oklahoma), John Cornyn (Texas), Ted Cruz (Texas), Mike Enzi (Wyoming), Lindsey Graham (South Carolina), Chuck Grassley (Iowa), Orrin Hatch (Utah), James Inhofe (Oklahoma), Mike Johanns (Nebraska), Ron Johnson (Wisconsin), Mike Lee (Utah), Mitch McConnell (Kentucky), Rand Paul (Kentucky), Jim Risch (Idaho), Pat Roberts (Kansas), Marco Rubio (Florida), Tim Scott (South Carolina), Jeff Sessions (Alabama) and John Thune (South Dakoka).

Marco Rubio of Florida, one of the senators who voted against the bill, will be giving the Republican response to President Obama's State of the Union address later this evening.